hTRIUS-lab-ETH-Zürich-Testing.jpg

Test first

So that we can offer what we promise, we test what is possible. 
The following results were produced at ETH Zurich.

# test-then-talk

Understand

To prove our developments, we meticulously check our results. The BionicBack was tested by us in the test laboratory at ETH Zurich. Thanks to the measurement technology used, we can reliably prove the relief in a muscle-specific manner. The aim of our investigations is to measure the fatigue and strain in the affected muscles. Our holistic approach is not only aimed at maximizing support, but also focuses on optimally coordinating all factors involved.
The way in which exoskeletons work is focused on influencing biomechanical parameters. These can be measured, for example, using so-called surface electromyography.

 

tested at

ethz_logo.png
hTRIUS-BionicBack-EMG-Messung.jpg

MEASURE

In surface electromyography, adhesive electrodes reflect muscle activity in the form of electrical potential. This means that muscle exertion and fatigue parameters can be read out later in the analysis.

To test the BionicBack, each test person was equipped with electrodes on the muscles that are centrally involved in lifting: muscles for extending the spine in the lower back, muscles for stretching the hips in the buttocks and back of the thighs and muscles for stabilizing the trunk in the abdomen were measured.

 

The benefits of the system can be seen in the comparison of the strain and fatigue parameters: Without support vs. with support from the BionicBack.

#Measuring method sEMG

(Surface electrodes) 

Study design: Dr. Felix Thomas

16066.png

Test

In order to optimally represent the application in everyday work, each test subject completed dynamic lifting movements as well as holding tasks in a deep forced posture. Each task was performed with a 20kg test weight to simulate the average target application of manual handling.  

 

The static holding task was also carried out up to the maximum holding time in order to measure the holding power with and without support.  

 

To validate the results, the study design also included, among other things, a randomization of the processes, an warm up period, lifting frequency specifications and a subjective technique control.

20kg as an everyday test weight  

If the weight to be lifted is smaller, the relief values are higher.

hTRIUS-BionicBack-EMG-Messung-side.jpg
hTRIUS-BionicBack-ETH-TEAM.jpg

Results

To measure the relief provided by the BionicBack, the activity of the muscles that are mainly involved in lifting movements in the body were measured in the laboratory. These are located on the back of the legs, the buttocks, along the spine in the back and on the sides of the stomach. (Hip extensors, back extensors and pelvic stabilizers) By using the BionicBack, it was possible to reduce muscle activity by up to 24% and muscle fatigue by up to 86%.

BB-dynamisch-hTRIUS-3.png

Static holding task

In the other test run, a static holding task was carried out and muscle activity was also measured. Each subject carried out the task for as long as they could. For comparison, once with and once without BionicBack. Significant muscle relief in the back extensor of up to 24% at times could be measured. Viewed over the entire exercise period, the use of the BionicBack can reduce muscle activity in the back extensor by 6%, in the back of the legs by 13%, in the buttocks by 11% and in the lateral abdominal muscles by 22%. However, it can be observed that the relief is concentrated on different parts of the body at different times of the load. Especially in the last 30s there is an increased relief of the back extensors, up to 24% on average. That means, especially at critical times when the back extensor muscles  works at the load limit, the BionicBack takes on more and more of a support task for the wearer.

BB-Statisch-hTRIUS.png

Dynamic lifting task

In one test run, the muscle activity was measured during lifting movements with a 20 kg weight. The movements were carried out in a standardized way with and without the support of the BionicBack and the results were compared. Averaged over the five test subjects, the result was a relief in the form of lower muscle activity of approx. 9% in the back extensor, 11% in the back of the legs and 36% in the abdominal muscle, while the gluteal muscle was relieved by 4.5%.

Increased holding times thanks to BionicBack

The supportive effect is not only evident in the reduced muscle activity, but above all in the increased holding time. Each subject was able to hold the holding task significantly longer if he used a BionicBack, on average by 55%  longer. 

BB-Haltedauer-hTRIUS.png

Significant reduction in signs of fatigue through BionicBack

Electromyography can measure not only muscle exertion, but also muscle fatigue over time. Put simply, a tired muscle can be controlled neuronally with less high frequency over time - the decline of the signal frequency can be modeled in a (computer) analysis. This analysis shows that all measured muscles show significantly reduced signs of fatigue when they are supported by the BionicBack. With BionicBack, the back extensor tires averaged 86% less, the back of the leg by 50%, the gluteal muscle by 76% and the lateral abdominal muscle by 57%.

Do exoskeletons therefore contribute to occupational safety ?

BB-Ermüdungserscheinung-hTRIUS.png

summary

With the help of these results, our goal - #SupportToWear - can be proven. The results are scientifically valid and allow a good insight into how the BionicBack works. 

Much more important, however, is that these results can be achieved without affecting usability. And that, in combination with the small system structure, the low weight and the variable functionality, makes it unbeatable. As current studies confirm, exoskeletons can only work if they are used for a long time without obstructing factors such as large structures or a high system weight.  

"That we can provide such tremendous data makes us particularly proud and encourages us in our "just do it"-culture."

- 

CEO & FOUNDER 

Dominik Heinzelmann

16066.png

Current studies make it clear how important a high level of user acceptance really is when using exoskeletons.  In one study, the scientists say that prevention is only possible if user acceptance of exoskeletons improves in the future. For subjects with back problems, the restrictions caused by the bulky system were very acceptable, but for subjects without back problems, the benefits could not make up for the limitations. (3)

 

3 Kozinc, Ziga; Babic`, Jan; Šarabon, Nejc (2020): Comparison of Subjective Responses of Low Back Pain Patients and Asymptomatic Controls to Use of Spinal Exoskeleton during Simple Load Lifting Tasks: A Pilot Study. In: International journal of environmental research and public health 18 (1). DOI: https://doi.org/10.3390/ijerph18010161 . 

hTRIUS-BionicBack-Muskel-Zeichen-clean.j
hTRIUS-BionicBack-Rückseite-Zeichen5.jpg

hTRIUS-lab-ETH-Zürich-Testing.jpg

Test first

Damit wir bieten können, was wir versprechen, testen wir was möglich ist. 

Folgende Ergebnisse wurden an der ETH Zürich erstellt.

#test-then-talk

Verstehen

Zum Nachweis unser Entwicklung prüfen wir unsere Ergebnisse akribisch. Das BionicBack wurde an der ETH Zürich im Testlabor von uns geprüft. Durch die verwendete Messtechnik können wir die Entlastung muskelspezifisch zuverlässig nachweisen. Das Ziel unserer Untersuchungen ist es, die Ermüdung und die Entlastung in den betroffenen Muskeln zu messen. Unser gesamtheitlicher Ansatz zielt nicht nur auf die Maximierung der Unterstützung ab, sondern fokussiert sich auf die optimale Abstimmung aller miteinbezogenen Faktoren.
Die Wirkweise von Exoskeletten liegt aber zentral in der Beeinflussung biomechanischer Parameter. Diese lassen sich beispielsweise durch die sogenannte Oberflächen-Elektromyographie mesen.

 

tested at

ethz_logo.png
hTRIUS-BionicBack-EMG-Messung.jpg

MESSEN

In der Oberflächen-Elektromyographie geben Klebeelektroden die Muskelaktivität in Form des elektrischen Potentials wider. Damit können später in der Analyse die Muskelanstrengung und Ermüdungsparameter ausgelesen werden.

Zur Überprüfung des BionicBacks wurde jeder Proband mit Elektroden an den am Heben zentral beteiligten Muskeln ausgestattet: Muskeln zur Streckung der Wirbelsäule im Rücken, Muskeln zur Streckung der Hüfte in Gesäß und Oberschenkelrückseite und Muskeln zur Stabilisierung des Rumpfes im Bauch wurden gemessen.

 

Der Nutzen des Systems zeigt sich im Vergleich der Anstrengungs- und Ermüdungsparameter: Ohne Unterstützung vs. Mit Unterstützung durch das BionicBack.

#Messmethode sEMG

(Oberflächenelektroden) 

Studiendesign: Dr. Felix Thomas

16066.png

Test

Um die Anwendung im Arbeitsalltag optimal abzubilden, absolvierte jeder Proband dynamische Hebebewegungen, sowie Halteaufgaben in tiefer Zwangshaltung. Jede Aufgabe wurde mit 20kg Testgewicht durchgeführt, um die durchschnittliche Zielanwendung einer manuellen Handhabung zu simulieren. 

 

Die statische Halteaufgabe wurde außerdem bis zur maximalen Ausbelastung durchgeführt, um die Halteleistung mit und ohne Unterstützung zu messen. 

 

Zur Absicherung der Ergebnisse umfasste das Studiendesign unter Anderem auch eine Randomisierung der Abläufe, eine Eingewöhnungszeit, Hebefrequenzvorgaben und eine subjektive Technikkontrolle.

20kg als Alltagstestgewicht  

Ist das zu hebende Gewicht kleiner, ergeben sich höhere Entlastungswerte.

hTRIUS-BionicBack-EMG-Messung-side.jpg
hTRIUS-BionicBack-ETH-TEAM.jpg

Ergebnisse

Zur Messung der Entlastung durch den BionicBack wurde im Labor die Aktivität der Muskeln gemessen, die im Körper hauptsächlich an einer Hebebewegung beteiligt sind. Diese befinden sich an der Beinrückseite, dem Gesäß, entlang der Wirbelsäule im Rücken und seitlich am Bauch. (Hüftstrecker, Rückenstrecker und Beckenstabilisatoren) Durch den Einsatz des BionicBacks konnte die Muskelaktivität um bis zu 24%, sowie die Muskelermüdung um bis zu 86% reduziert werden.

BB-dynamisch-hTRIUS-3.png

Statische Halteaufgabe

Im anderen Testlauf wurde eine statische Halteaufgabe durchgeführt und ebenfalls die Muskelaktivität gemessen. Jeder Proband führte die Aufgabe so lange aus, wie er konnte. Zum Vergleich einmal mit und einmal ohne BionicBack. Es konnten deutliche Muskelentlastungen im Rückenstrecker von zeitweise bis zu 24% gemessen werden. Über die gesamte Belastungszeit gesehen kann durch den Einsatz des BionicBack die Muskelaktivität im Rückenstrecker um 6%, in der Beinrückseite um 13%, im Gesäß um 11% und im seitlichen Bauchmuskel um 22% reduziert werden. Jedoch kann beobachtet werden, dass sich die Entlastung zu verschiedenen Zeitpunkten der Belastung auf verschiedene Körperregionen konzentriert. So zeigt sich vor allem in den letzten 30s eine erhöhte Entlastung der Rückenstrecker, bis zu 24% im Mittel. Das heißt, gerade zu kritischen Zeitpunkten, in denen die Rückenstrecker-Muskulatur  an der Belastungsgrenze arbeitet, übernimmt der BionicBack mehr und mehr eine Stützaufgabe für den Träger.

BB-Statisch-hTRIUS.png

Dynamische Hebeaufgabe

In einem Testdurchlauf wurde die Muskelaktivität bei Hebebewegungen mit einem 20kg Gewicht gemessen. Die Bewegungen wurden standardisiert mit und ohne Unterstützung durch das BionicBack durchgeführt und die Ergebnisse verglichen. Es ergab sich gemittelt über die fünf Probanden eine Entlastung in Form von einer geringeren Muskelaktivität von ca. 9% im Rückenstrecker, 11% in der Beinrückseite und 36% im Bauchmuskel, während der Gesäßmuskel mit 4,5% entlastet wurde.

Erhöhte Haltezeiten durch BionicBack

Die unterstützende Wirkung zeigt sich nicht nur in reduzierter Muskelaktivität, sondern vor allem auch in der erhöhten Haltedauer. Jeder Proband konnte die Halteaufgabe deutlich länger halten, wenn er einen BionicBack nutzte, im Mittel um 55%  länger. 

BB-Haltedauer-hTRIUS.png

Deutlichere Reduktion von Ermüdungserscheinungen durch BionicBack

Nicht nur die Muskelanstrengung kann man durch die Elektromyographie messen, sondern auch die Muskelermüdung über die Zeit. Vereinfacht gesagt, kann ein ermüdeter Muskel mit der Zeit weniger hochfrequent neoronal angesteuert werden - der Verlauf der Signalfrequenz lässt sich in einer (Rechner-)Analyse modellieren. In dieser Analyse zeigt sich, dass alle gemessenen Muskeln deutlich reduzierte Ermüdungserscheinungen zeigen, wenn sie durch das BionicBack unterstützt werden. Der Rückenstrecker ermüdet mit BionicBack nämlich über die Probanden gemittelt um 86% weniger, die Beinrückseite um 50%, der Gesäßmuskel um 76% und der seitliche Bauchmuskel um 57%.

Tragen Exoskelette somit zum Arbeitsschutz bei?

BB-Ermüdungserscheinung-hTRIUS.png

Zusammenfassung

Mithilfe dieser Ergebnisse lässt sich unser Ziel- #EntlastungzumAnziehen- nachweisen. Die Ergebnisse sind wissenschaftlich valide und ermöglichen einen guten Einblick in die Wirkweise des BionicBack. 

Viel wichtiger ist jedoch, dass sich diese Ergebnisse erreichen lassen, ohne dass die Usabilty beeinflusst wird. Und das bildet in Kombination mit dem geringen Systemaufbau, dem geringen Gewicht und der variablen Funktionsweise eine unschlagbare Anwendbarkeit. Denn wie aktuelle Studien bestätigen, können Exoskelette nur wirken, wenn sie auch längerfristig ohne Störfaktoren, wie großen Aufbauten oder einem schwerem Systemgewicht verwendet werden. 

"Dass uns das gelungen ist, macht uns besonders stolz und bestärkt uns in unserer "Einfach-machen-Kultur"

CEO & FOUNDER 

Dominik Heinzelmann

16066.png

Aktuelle Studien verdeutlichen, wie wichtig eine hohe Nutzerakzeptanz beim Einsatz von Exoskeletten wirklich ist. In einer Studie sprechen die Wissenschaftler davon, dass Prävention nur möglich ist, wenn sich die Nutzerakzeptanz von Exoskeletten zukünftig verbessert. Für Probanden mit Rückenproblemen waren die Einschränkungen durch klobige System zwar sehr akzeptabel, für Probanden ohne Rückenprobleme konnte der Nutzen die Einschränkungen jedoch weniger wett machen. (3)

 

3 Kozinc, Ziga; Babic`, Jan; Šarabon, Nejc (2020): Comparison of Subjective Responses of Low Back Pain Patients and Asymptomatic Controls to Use of Spinal Exoskeleton during Simple Load Lifting Tasks: A Pilot Study. In: International journal of environmental research and public health 18 (1). DOI: https://doi.org/10.3390/ijerph18010161

hTRIUS-BionicBack-Muskel-Zeichen-clean.j
hTRIUS-BionicBack-Rückseite-Zeichen5.jpg